It was built in 1927-28 and spans the waterway known as Will's Gut. Strong tides and wind cut across here and a bridge would have to be pretty strong to withstand them. The 1,150 ft. bridge rest on crisscrossed granite blocks with large openings that let the tide through. 10 thousand tons of granite were used and a concrete road built on top. A sidewalk was added in 1951 and guardrails in 1961. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1975 and Recognized as a Historic Civil Engineering Landmark in 1984.
Bailey's Island was originally called Newaggin by the local Abenaki Native Americans. First Settler on the island was William Black, son of Black Will a freed slave from Kittery Maine. The island then became known as Will's Island. In 1742 Rev. Timothy Bailey took possession of the island and it has been known as Bailey's Island ever since.
Sites to see on Bailey's Island are...
The Giant Staircase Walking Trail, named because of the large boulders overlapping and giving the appearance of a large stairway. Beautiful views from this walk way! We had a lovely day walking here.
Mackerel Cove one of the most photographed spots in Maine! Here's mine..
And Land's End, a picturesque beach and the Lobsterman Statue that pays homage to the men of the island that fish the waters
Here's a jellyfish we found washed up
There's also a huge gift shop here that sells Maine made gifts.